Bunana – Homegrown (JRob9)

4

Thanks for including so many pictures, JRob9!  –Tokeahontas

Submitted By:
Camera Used:
Canon Powershot A470
Strain Name:
Bunana (cross)
Genetics:
Bunana female x Unknown male. Bunana-dominant pheno.
From:
Homegrown
Rating:
4.  
A+
Type:
Pretty sure the original Bunana was a bit Sativa dominant
Price:
Already had the seeds.
Looks:

Dense, light green bud, but has just a little red/orange appearance.  Good amount of light and dark orange/red pistils.  Pretty good amount of trichomes, mostly milky white in color with a few here and there that are amber… especially near the stem.

Smell:

Sweet and sour sticky fruit, with a hint of flowers.

Taste:

Sweet, sour, musky fruit.  A lot like the smell… very hard to describe.

Buzz Type:

Strong cerebral numbness, and a strong buzz throughout the entire body.  My back, knees, and feet feel slightly tingly.  It’s a pleasant feeling.  I recently broke my left fibula and got a cast, and I suffer from chronic pain from a broken back injury… this is helping amazingly!

Buzz Length:

I smoked one bowl (2 hits), the bud had been curing in a glass jar for many months.  It has been one hour and the buzz is still strong, but more mellow and not as medicating in terms of pain relief.  About to roast another, but I know for sure the buzz length is over 2 hours on this Banana.

Overall:

The buzz started out very strong, it kind of caught me off guard, but within 20-30 minutes it mellowed enough to be more enjoyable and functional.  It helped relieve pain in my back and ankle.  The taste was good and it was smooth, I don’t believe I coughed once.  Very good medicine, probably not the greatest to start your day with though!  –JRob9


12 Comments | Add Yours

  1. says:

    on Mar 29, 2013

    Jeezus AMBER TRICs? Left to long for my liking, but I credit you for patience I guess.

  2. says:

    on Mar 29, 2013

    i need buds to buy

  3. says:

    on Mar 29, 2013

    Nice review.
    Good lookin flowers

  4. says:

    on Mar 29, 2013

    Those amber trichs look sexy. I think its worth the wait and every bud should be let go until full amber

    • says:

      on Apr 4, 2013

      Thanks! I prefer a good 50/50 mix on the stonier Indicas.. but the best weed I have ever smoked was some "Baba Kush" (I believe it's a Pre98 pheno, has been around this area since '95 or so) grown outdoors with almost 100% amber trichomes. I remember seeing a bud of it in the sunlight, it looked straight shimmery gold!! Back then, my friends and I referred to that batch of Baba as "the passout medication" haha. This was as Mcdabbers503 was saying, a very lazy strain. The high was very intense and strong from head to toe. The head buzz was more of an Indica mellow buzz, but the body high was definitely a strong couchlock feeling, strongest I've ever felt. When the buzz of that stuff wore off it left you nodding off and feeling very fatigued (up to 4 hours after smoking it!). That particular batch turned my constant back pain into a pleasant tingle, by far the most medicating strain (for chronic pain) that I have smoked to this day. We ended up pollinating a branch on one of the Baba plants with an unknown male, so I still am growing the Baba, but it is no longer the original. Hoping to get a cut of it again, one day!

  5. says:

    on Mar 30, 2013

    Depends what your looking for full amber flowers give me no benefit and make me lazy but if you need help with pain that's fine and

    Lol NOPE not every strain should be let go amber that something someone who is growing for weight says… Sativas should be harvested with mostly cloudy most hybrids u should wait for an amber tric or 2 and heavy indicas like kushes are best at full amber…

  6. says:

    on Apr 4, 2013

    @Tokeahontas, I didn't spell the strain name wrong.. it is called Bunana "boo-na-na", and has been going around this area for many years. There has also been a version of it going around with some sort of Goo crossed to it.. "Goonana".
    @Mcdabbers503, This plant had only about 5% amber trichomes when it was cut.. more switched over to amber during the dry/cure process (which means everything to me), I don't smoke stuff that is still moist and uncured. I would estimate that there's still only 15% amber trichomes at the most.. 6 months after harvest. Thanks for your opinion, but I grow my plants the way I do for a reason, and if others don't like it they can go ahead and hop off my back right now and go hate somewhere else. I have smoked well over 200+ different strains from some of the best clubs in the Sac area, and I can say with confidence that most of my outdoor strains get me higher than 95% of the "top shelf indoor" around here…
    This Bunana is on the Sativa side of the spectrum.. it does NOT leave me lazy, although I'm sure the amber trichomes help to extend the buzz length.. it is not one of those strains that when the high fades away you feel fatigued and tired. I also agree with you that not every strain should be grown to full maturity trichome-wise.. but you never know what those are until you try… Plus personal preference.. I prefer any and all good Indicas to have some amber trichs, and all of my outdoor strains are 50% Indica-dominant or close to it. I have broken many bones in my body including my back.. Cannabis is a pain getaway for me sometimes.. and I can say for sure my strains I let amber out more are more medicinal for my chronic pain. I also don't mind being lazy, I want my Indicas to knock me out :)
    Thanks for the comments.

    • says:

      on Apr 4, 2013

      Whoops!!! I'm sorry about that, JRob! Will go in and change it back! :)

      • says:

        on Apr 4, 2013

        Thank you, no problem :) I wish I knew what the genetics of it were, but all I know is it's been in this area for over 3 years and I've never known it by any other name. We had a Bunana cut 3 years back, ended up pollinating a branch on it with an unknown male.. and got the seeds that grew the buds in this review. I hope to find the guy who gave us the seeds for the male we crossed to the Bunana so we can figure out what the strain was!

  7. says:

    on Jun 27, 2013

    Bunana from Berkeley Patients Association is blueberry x banana

    • says:

      on Jul 12, 2013

      Good to know! With the smell the Bunana gives off, I wouldn't doubt that's what our's is as well!

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?