East Coast Sour Diesel From Grey Area (Meangreenmartian)

4

I wasn’t aware of the “special-ness” of this particular strain.  Can anyone give more insight?

East Coast Sour Diesel

Submitted By: Meangreenmartian (Member and Editor)

Camera Used: Sony Cybershot DSCS780

Name: East Coast Sour Diesel

From: Grey Area (Coffee ShopAmsterdam)

Grade: A-

Type: Sativa

Price: $15/g

Looks: Crazy multicolored funk that resembles OG Kush.  Lime green mixed in with emerald on top of abundant crystals and orange.

Smell: Overpowering lemon, grapefruit, citrus aroma with slight skunk undertones.

Taste: Taste was honestly the same as smell which is always nice.

Buzz Type: Very creative, positive, and uplifting burn.  Great afternoon puff while enjoying the sights.

Buzz Length: Long, about 2 hours.

Overall: This was a real treat that Grey Area got their hands on an elite clone of Diesel.  I still find Diesel to be one of, if not, the tastiest strains in the world and this did not disappoint.  If you’re looking for a really enjoyable smoke then the NYCD at Amnesia or this Sour Diesel from Grey Area are the two best in the city.

And for some insanely good munch for sweet tooth’s I recommend going across the street from the Grey Area to Puccini Bomoini (Staalstraat 17) for some of the finest chocolate Europe has to offer.  –Meangreenmartian

East Coast Sour Diesel

Ahh, a member after my own heart!  Puccini Bomboni is without question the best chocolate I have EVER eaten.  Usually, Grey Area is so crowded, Chubbs makes our purchases there while I get the chocolate then we head over to Amnesia to indulge.  –Mrs. Chubbs

Related Reviews

Grey Area – A top coffee shop in our book!

Grey Martian – With so many strains to sample in Amsterdam, it’s hard to get a lot of any one strain.  But maybe a must with this one.

Silver BubbleMeangreenmartian is pretty loyal to Grey Area…and this bud is one reason why.

Grey Crystal – Looks are certainly deceiving.

Random Reviews

Apollo

Apple Kush

Arjan’s haze

Asteroid

More From Around The Web

Marijuana Reviews Forum

Medical Marijuana Dispensary Directory

Free Medical Marijuana School

34 Comments | Add Yours

  1. wheezer

    says:

    on Apr 24, 2010

    Lovely!

  2. says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    looks great. nice review

  3. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    Super nice! All good A-Dam reviews!! Smoking the USA in the Nethers! Things have changed since the years past!

  4. says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    Yeah I’m glad they changed Skill-it. We have the best kushes, chems, and diesels so it makes sense that they’re makin there way across the pond to get worked on by some very skilled dutch growers.

    @ Mrs Chubbs, Puccini really is that good. Cant go wrong with some fig, rasberry, and hazelnut bon bons after a sess at G.A.

  5. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    Yeps. Right with that. We are still the good ol USA when it comes to the breeders out there in places I have noticed. Can’t beat ingenuity at it’s finest! Never been to Puccini, but will make sure to go there next time I’m in Holl.

  6. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    Oh and the specialness is it belonging to the Chemdawg-OGK-Headband family. Ok I forget now off the top of the head(I’m very stoned apparently) but what is the gens on sour diesel? Mass super skunkxchemdawg d right? Anybody out there help on this one?

  7. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    Oh MGM have you ever had the L.A. Woman? MGMxL.A.Con? I know that your fav is the MGM this is why I ask.

  8. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    I meant MMGxL.A.Con. and MMG being your fav sorry! My buddy is growing one L.A.woman now and it has one of the weirdest growth patterns I have ever seen! Never smoked it and am wondering what it is going to be like? I have had both L.A.Con and MMG and they are both in my top twenty. There are just too many good smokes out there trying to get into my top ten! The whole Chemdawg d, Sour d, OGK, Headband, Bubba Kush, Blackberry Kush, Oaxacan Gold, Malawi Gold, C.O.W., Vietnam Black, Afghani Bullrider, C-99, Jillybean, Silver Re-fried, Genius, Apllo11, Purple Urkle, Trainweck, Nevil’s haze, Deathstar, L.A.Con, MMG, Jack Herer, Ed Rosenthal Super Bud, Chocolpe, Original Skunk#1(cheese and lemon phenos), NL#5, AK-47, Rooi Bart(red beard), DJ Shorts Blueberry, Romulan, F.I., God Bud, and the list for top twenty goes on, and on and(there are more then twenty here so…) is hard to do but that is a basic run down I guess. I’m stoned and typing away! Smoke in and Peace out!

  9. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 25, 2010

    I just read an old L.A.Con review from U MGM and I found out U have had the L.A. Woman already. So how was it?

  10. wheezer

    says:

    on Apr 26, 2010

    I smell smoke…is that your keyboard or your brains????hehe, I got some LA Con seeds (6) and only got 1 female. I haven’t tried it yet, and I got some Tora Bora (LA x Pakistan). I did make good use of those LA males, pollinated a Sour Diesel, MK Ultra, Super Skunk,and Green Crack with it.

  11. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 26, 2010

    whats up wheezy? Both me and the keyboard are blazing!haha That is to bad about the L.A.Con male to female ratio, but a good man you are for making use of that pollen! All of the crosses will be great to see as all of the strains are top notch! I just found some cool info on hydrocanna.com under the kinds of OG thread. There is a chart of the whole chemdawg-chemdawg d-mass super skunk-sour diesel-chem1,2,3,4–chems sister-OGK-Bubba-etc. genetic lineage. I thought it was pretty cool anyways. Just got some Kaia kushxTahoe kush. Fire. Plain and simple fire. Gotta tend to my ladies and take a puff now. Smoke in and Peace out!

  12. skill-it

    says:

    on Apr 26, 2010

    Oh and the Tora Bora is a hammer of a plant when grown right. Smack you in the head right between the eyes high when ripping tubes of it! Highly recommended sir!

  13. Nuglife

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    wow! that looks KILLER!!!

    Looks alot like an OG…but of course sour d and OG kush are related….man that looks delicious good review an find bro. I love the uplifting high of sour diesel, looks alot like the headband I just picked up too (og kush x sour diesel)

  14. Nuglife

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    I just looked twice and realized this was in amsterdam that you picked this up, NIIICE man, I was a lil skeptical about the quality in Amsterdam, but this coffee shop is safe to say BOMB!

  15. Mulfro

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    A diesel with no diesel taste or smell?

  16. weed report

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    Nice bud you smoked bro glad u enjoyed yourself in amesterdam. I wanna make a trip sometime in the next few year and definitely gonna make a stop at the grey are.

  17. H1JACK3R

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    All these reviews from Amsterdam just succeed in getting me jealous. If you had to put a number on it Meangreenmartian, how many different kinds did you try?

    Peace.

  18. says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    I heard that east coast diesel is better than west coast diesel. But the smell of sour diesel is my favorite smelling strain. It’s such a unique smell that you would have to smell it yourself.

  19. wheezer

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    You gotta remember,east coast sour diesel and nycdiesel are not the same strain. The east coast sour diesel is the diesel grown most often in cali. I’m pretty sure that east coast sour diesel is ‘REAL DIESEL” or the popular cut that is everywhere. I could be wrong on this because the whole story on the chem-dog,diesel, og kush, family of strains is kinda confusing at best. But supposedly the famous Cem-dog strain was crossed with a Mass. Super Skunk, and the Sour Diesel, or East Coast Sour Diesel was born. The NYC Diesel was bred in Amsterdam by Soma, and it is barely related if at all.

  20. kocaine420

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    Deff looks like some Sour Diesel. Im sure this originated from Cali. Dont know why its called East Coast.

    • says:

      on Apr 12, 2012

      Actually a good cut of the SD thats on the east coast comes from Canada or Private Growers and its fire as hell too. Not saying theres none here from Cali, just not as much.

  21. says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    The sour diesel I have had has always had a citrus fruit smell mixed with a pungent diesel gas smell. I find it incredible in smell and flavor, but I have yet to have a sample like this that was grown properly to maturity with abundant resin production. Even the premature samples I have had were still quite tasty, just no buzz length or intensity.

  22. BUDconnoisseur89

    says:

    on Apr 29, 2010

    yea man east coast sour dees is fucking amazing i get this strain a lot and i will never get tired of it the flavor increadble and its strong as fuck nice pics and review
    and the Deisel and sour deisel are from chem/dawg that was brought to Mass. and NYC and the grower didnt like the name chemdawg so he changed it to Deisel. and Sour deisel lineage is a hermaphroditic Mass. Superskunk that pollinated the Diesel and out comes Sour deisel so if you have any questions on Deisel just ask

  23. says:

    on May 1, 2010

    @ skillit, I have tried the LA woman, review is upcoming. Sample I had looked like LA but was lighter and not as tight. Smoked more on the martian side though kinda uplifting and racy.

    @HiJack, usually try 5-6 types of bud and 2-3 types of hash each day I am out there so Over the last 5 yrs had to have sampled hundreds of diff strains.

  24. says:

    on May 1, 2010

    Yeah East Coast is a elite strain from East coast USA that is in the Chemdawg/Diesel/OG KUsh family. Budtender told me that they just got this clone so its one of the newer strains at G.A. All the coffeeshops are stocking the American gems these days. Greenhouse had a good 4-5 kushes for sale and also chemdawg and bubblegum.

    @ weedreport, thanks for the comments dude. This isnt the real Dave Warden from weedreport on youtube is it? If so, your videos kick ass bro.

  25. Rick ( Dutch Toker )

    says:

    on Oct 18, 2010

    bubblegum has been in holland for over 10 years…

  26. Smartass

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2010

    the problem in Amsterdam is that you can smoke alll day long. after 4 or 5 joints, you don’t really feel the strenth of the bud. That’s why I always go to Amsterdam for a half day, just to buy my weed and then I go back to my house to enjoy them.

    I went to Amsterdam 20 or 30 times, I know what i’m talking about : you can’t enjoy the buds there, you have to go back to where you live to enjoy the smoke.

    try Amnesia Haze and the Mean Martian Green, and you’ll see, these strains are FAN-TAS-TIC.
    10 times better in terms of taste that any strong Kush you can smoke.
    Of course if you smoke it in a bang, it will disappoint you. But good strain must be smoke in a bang, you only feel the high, not the taste.
    Haze strains have a good taste until the end of the joint are are VERY powerful
    (english is not my mother tongue language so it’s hard to be convincing)
    -Amnesia Haze
    -Mean Martian Green

  27. Grasstronaut

    says:

    on Dec 27, 2010

    Smoke a real deal OG or Bubba Kush and try saying that taste thing again.

    Wish GA had some ECSD at the cup but whatever hope they got it in next year.

    I’m itchin for some Puccini Bomboni. I wish they would ship stuff to the states. Havnt had decent chocolate since…

  28. blah the marijuana man

    says:

    on Dec 30, 2010

    fuck the east coast there weed is shit as fuck north west and west all damn day u all east siders get bunk im sorry to say

  29. says:

    on Mar 25, 2011

    First this is NOT ECSD! You won’t find it in Amsterdamn!!!

    ECSD came from an accidental cross of (’91 Chemdawg x Mass Super Skunk/NL)x DNL after the DNL hermed and seeded the room. The DNL’s lineage is NL/Shiva x Hawaiian.

  30. SDpatron

    says:

    on Aug 19, 2011

    Liven… nobody gives a shit about what you think. Your opinion does not equal fact.

  31. says:

    on Aug 19, 2011

    SDpatron. About 6 years ago my old growing partner, that I got the cut from. Was in Amsterdam. They were willing to pay 10k euros to get a cut out to them. They said they could DNA test it. To make sure it was the legit cut. And the test results would be back in 3 days. Now this was only around 6 years ago. And he had refused the offer. Feeling it in his best interest to hoard the cut. 10k is easy to make off such a huge yielding plant. So why again were they willing to pay so much for a cut?? I assume because they had not gotten a cut of the true S.D. yet. So maybe 6 years later they have acquired it. Bit still this is not it! Period!!

  32. says:

    on Aug 19, 2011

    These are my old growing partners comment about the above. It on icmag and below I will put the link.

    WhiteMountain
    Banned
    Join Date: Nov 2004

    We aren’t bashing rez’s work, his beans r obviously a good representation of ecsd In seed form, we r bashing his insane comments.
    Can he offer up any actual proof that it is an ibl? I’ve seen nothing that even comes close to proof, just wild statements that mean absolutely nothing to someone who actually knows about breeding & growing. There has to b something besides just saying that it’s an f14 lol.
    How about a DNA test Rez? They can’t cost that much, maybe I’ll pay for it. A DNA test it should b really easy to tell if it’s an ibl or an f1 hybrid. I know it’s an f1
    How’s that sound Rez? Let’s DNA test it. When I was in amsterdam the greenhouse seedbank offered my $10,000 euro if I got a clone of
    My ecsd to them. They said that they can DNA test the clone to make sure it matches the bid & they said the results would only take like 2-3 days. So it’s def possible no doubt. Tr
    Then the whol “I coined the term east coast sour diesel” that has gotta b a joke right? Does anyone believe this crap?

  33. says:

    on Aug 19, 2011

    I can’t paste the link for some reason. but it is page 21 on. In the smoke report on Icmag Sour Diesel Vs. New York City Diesel

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?