Irene Kush From Private Dealer (deepsouth)

5

This review gives deepsouth editor status!  Congrats!

12-13-11 - DeepSouth - Irene Kush

Submitted By: deepsouth (Member and Editor)

Camera Used: Canon EOS 40D

Name: Irene Kush

From: Private Dealer

Grade: A+

Type: Hybrid.  Feels like 60/40.  Not 100% sure, though, because the exact genetics are kind of a mystery.

Genetics: I saw on on the internet that this one is bred in Atlanta and originated from some Cali OG Kush bag seed and breeders in the ATL tinkered around a bit with the genetics.  It is so sour that they may have re-crossed it with even more diesel genetic, I’m not sure.  It is said to be held by a small group of breeders in the ATL.  It is top notch, brings top dollar, can be really rare, however quite plentiful from time to time.

Price: $400-$500/ounce.  Around $550-$600 in the ATL.  Yes, top notch smoke is pricey in the South.

Looks: Really dense and frosty nuggets with a lot of mature trichromes.  Bright green with a lot of orange hairs.  Great bag appeal.

Smell: Fueled up, kushed out, sour funky alpine forest is the best way to describe this special bud.  It smells a lot like sour fatlighter freshly chopped from a stump in the forest.  More sour than your average OG Kush.  Heavy on the diesel. 

There is a hint of nutmeg and a lot of spice in there for good measure.  The smell reminds me of someone cooking some spiced up gourmet food.  Any amount of this bud will reek up anything and everything.  The scent will stay on your clothes, in your car and house for days it seems without even firing it up.

Taste: The taste is a lot like the smell.  Funky, musty dieseled out sour fuel.  There is a definite alpine forest flavor drenched in sour turpentine.  Mouthwatering and some of the tastiest kush in the South.  This is in no way a sweet bud.  Totally on the other end of the spectrum.  The taste is mouthwatering and very delicious.  Even if you are super baked you want to keep hitting it for the taste.

Buzz Type: With the first puff you feel it straight behind the eyes and in your face.  After another pull, the extreme head high sets in engulfing your brain.  Your face and cheek bones start to tingle and your mind kicks into overdrive thinking of pleasant thoughts.  It gives you a lot of energy and you want to go hiking in the mountains or get outdoors.  The buzz begins to creep into your chest and makes its way to your thighs.  Before long, the buzz has you tingling all over. 

A good body to brain buzz ratio, however the buzz is the most intense in your head.  One of the best highs I have ever had.  It seems to have a good ratio of sativa and indica.  It is just what the doctor ordered for pain, anxiety or pretty much anything that may ail you.  Every time I smoke this one I am definitely super high and sitting on cloud nine with not a care in the world or a pain in my body.

Buzz Length: Very long, even with a high tolerance.  Usually a good 2 to 3 hours from just a few rips of a bong.  Even after a week or two of smoking this one it seems to still get you really baked with little tolerance build-up.  Once you feel the buzz and taste the delectable flavor you just want to keep hitting it and you are high from dusk until dawn.  I love to smoke on this one camping way out in the mountains.

Overall: It is a super dank, high potency bud that does the trick every time.  I would give it an A+++, but I will keep A+ as being the top grade.  For the smell, taste, looks, potency and buzz it is hard to find a better bud. 

I love the purple kushes, Grandaddy Purple’s and hazes for the most part, but this one is top notch and is more potent than most of my favorite buds.  I highly recommend this bud if you ever come across it in the Dirty South.  –deepsouth

12-13-11 - DeepSouth - IreneKush2

This is a really great, detailed review.  Thanks for being such an active member lately!  –Tokeahontas

Related Reviews More Kush.

Emperor Kush

Alien Kush

Angel OG Kush

Blueberry Kush

Random Reviews

Chronic

Chunkle

NUGGETRY Chunkle Bubble Hash

Church OG Kush

More From Around The Web

Medical Marijuana Dispensary Directory

NUGGETRY

Ask Chubbs

MarijuanaReviews Forum

MarijuanaReviews YouTube Videos

Daily Medical Marijuana Newsletter

36 Comments | Add Yours

  1. KushJunkie420

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    that looks and sounds great. I wish I could get a zip of that minus 300 or so. why is it so expensive in south?

  2. Drums

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    Nice…but I’d quit smoking before I paid that much for herb.

  3. Liqur

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    Yea dude, if your gonna smoke herb, you gotta find a better hook or move out west :/ I would die if I ever had to pay those prices.

  4. says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    Yeah; see he or she is making a generalization about prices for the south (I lived in Nashville for 15+ years), which in my experience is nowhere close to the $400-$500 an ounce let alone the $550-600 in ATL. I even happen to have family in Marietta – an affluent suburb of Atlanta, and the prices were not insane like deepsouth is claiming they are.

    Also unless the $1600 dollar camera used to take these pics is broken or it’s lens was smeared in Vaseline, this is NOT top notch marijuana for the southeast.

    If those are in fact the prices deepsouth is being asked to pay then someone’s getting fleeced here my friends… Not saying all this to be a dick either, just trying to chime in here since I do know a little about the area.

  5. KushJunkie420

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    kinda sounds like your being a dick. That was 15 years ago inflation might have something to do with it. I hear people talk bout prices back n day all the time it was way cheaper then.and by the sounds of review smell and taste wise sounds like some dank ass pot way better than some mexi swag that looks and tastes like shit.

  6. MDZ

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    I live in the south, and know for a fact there are tons of places to get top notch (A++) herb for no more than 350/oz. This review is great and all but it still sucks to see people paying wayyy too much and thinking that it’s OK. It’s not..

  7. says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    @KushJunkie420
    Nah man, I only moved from there a year ago. I doubt the weed market changed that drastically in 12 months.

  8. yo

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    i get exceptional quility herb always with a label on the vac bag from the actual dispendary that sold it for 330-350 all day in charlotte. If someones being a bitch theyll ask 360……thats an honest report and stands for boone, asheville, raleigh, and wilmington. i visite multiple times a year all those cities as i ahve multiple friends that frequent the universitys in these areas. i would say the bud is mostly about 1-5 days from coming out of a package from california/oregon/colorado. SO look at what your smoking in cali (insert state here), then look at it in 5 days (assuming you dont just bag it but take care of it) thats the bud im smoking on more or less. The absolute best bud i get in NC is grown down an old road in a trailorpark in NC. It shits on all cali/michigan/colorodo ive ever seen. i think this guy has serious genetics…its the only batches i buy without a name attached go figure. Anyways we smoke good in the south for ill admit mroe money the the west coast….but not 550 600 that would get someone smacked.

  9. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    Again yes it is expensive. It is pretty much three varieties that cost $500. Grandaddy Purple, OG Kushes(and OG variations like Irene Kush) and some purple variations. They are seriously legit but really expensive. There used to be Blueberry and Blueberry Haze around for $400. In the last 6 months there have been alot of various Kushes, Hazes, Skunks, AK-47(That stinks out the entire house) and even a Purple Kush that are all $350oz. A couple of these rival the $500 Purple and OG kush. There is a range of grades and prices. 15 years ago there was excellent Skunk x Northern Lights for $300. Otherwise there is alot of dirt brown not worth smoking kind of bud.

    • says:

      on Jun 10, 2013

      im in georgia, and there's no way i would pay 500 for a zip lol. thats like 17 a g. its 15 a g where i am. and only 250 for the best cali

  10. hitillidie

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    damn dude idc what anyone says ur gettin ripped off if u pay that.I live in a little “hick” town in north carolina and no one over here would pay more than 400 a oz for any kind of bud. prices over here are 50-60 a 8th 100-120 a 1/4 200-220 1/2 n the oz’s go for 325-400.I know for damn sure it doesn’t cost 500 something in atl shit i got a quarter in atl for 90 and didnt even know the dude he just stayed across the street from my hotel.

  11. Drums

    says:

    on Dec 13, 2011

    Kushjunkie: actually, with inflation, herb is cheaper now than “back in the day”. Well…at least the 80′s…because I remember $300/z then. (Course, I paid 440-$50/z for nice Columbian in the 70′s)

  12. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    Hitlidie: Just wondering is it Grandaddy Purple. That is a hard one to find even in a big city. That is the one that I will pay $500 all day long for because it is so potent so insanely tasty. I usually get an ounce and smoke on it for a few months supplementing with some other starins. There are alot of other options $350-$425, that are great above average smokes but in comparison to a crazy batch of Granddaddy Purple, well in my opinion that is hard to beat. Yes it is expensive you all must not be in Georgia or Alabama. Unfortunately, $500 is a standard price for most top line buds. I usually have The insane Grandaddy Purple to smoke and supplement with some of the better strains like AK-47, various Kushes etc that go for a mere $350. Actually $350 is a insanely low price from a very good friend for this part of the south. The same stuff would probably go for atleast $450-$500. Actually I have paid $500 for some AK-47 and various Kushes in the past. I will only pay $500 for the Granddaddy Purple or some insane Purple Kush these days because the $350 is usually really great.

  13. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    Sorry about the quality of the photos I think they ended up getting cropped and when a photo is cropped they lose quality. They were not the most fabulous pictures in the first place. I find it pretty hard to get great bud pictures. I think landscape photography is much easier.

  14. Tebin

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    Wow I live in the south and I used to get my herb from Atlanta as well,but I’ve never paid over 360 and that was with a vacuum sealed bag with a cali address on it. Deepsouth I do believe you are being swindled out of your hard earned dollars my friend.

  15. KushJunkie420

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    @drums thats still crazy expensive. my uncle was telling me in 70-80s he was getting cuties for 600 of skunky tasty buds or someshit i dont know. i wish weed was 3 finger bags for 20 bucks that would be sweet

  16. chitown buds

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    not to be an asshole or anything but the way u talk about purple buds makes me think your an in experienced smoker…….only douschbags charge more for bud just cuz its “purple” smh

  17. kmann666

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    MOVE TO CALI OR CANADA!!!
    CHEAPER GRASS!!! lol

  18. MDZEE

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    dude, i live in the south and i see way better bud that that for 250-350. i would rather have someone give me an anemia than pay out the ass for that…….. mr. deep”south”

    • says:

      on Aug 23, 2012

      Were you high when you were "trying" to be a smart ass! Really! You would rather and I quote, "have someone give me an anemia than pay out the ass for that". You don't even know what anemia is? I do believe my dear that it's time to put it down and try to salvage what few brain cells you may have left! Not trying to be a bitch but if you're gonna try to call someone out don't look like a dumb ass!

  19. yooo

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    deepsouth obviously knows nothing about trees. this shit is beasters (generic decent weed that grows easily and has high yields)

    looks horrible, classic beasters dense and hairy as hell..and no way that smells like diesel/fuel. i seriously doubt you have ever had real diesel or kush b/c this is some average weed at best.

    someone needs to regulate this forum better to keep more consistent ratings. no way this should get an a+, ive seen much better weed on this site get b’s and b+’s

  20. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    It is what it is and I can tell you these are grade A buds, blows anything in Amsterdam away when I was there several years back. My reviews are honest and consistent I post reviews because I enjoy it and love great weed, not to be ridiculed because $500 is a standard price where I live for Purp, Diesel and clone only Kushes. Are you smoking those three. I have smoked many Diesel, Kushes, Hazes through the years and I can tell you that the top 5 for me Are 1. Grandaddy Purple 2. Irene Kush 3. OG kush 4.God’s Gift 5. Super Lemon Haze(Greenhouse, Amsterdam) I can tell you that the first 4 buds blow away the Super Lemon Haze and Super Silver Haze in Amsterdam that constantly have won Cannabis cup through the years. Just be glad you are somewhere where you do not have to pay $500 for top buds. I also doubt very serious that Granddaddy Purple and elite clone Kushes are readily available where alot of people live. What are ya’ll smoking some skuck or northern lights. Fortunately in the last 6 months there are some great strains available for $350 is that way to high as well. There is a review of some of the $350 buds coming I will refrain from posting any more top notch buds, I do not want to upset and piss everyone off because the buds cost $500.

  21. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    For those not familiar with prices in the South check out www.grasscity.co/stash-jar/636977. Some are paying $130-$140 a quarter for OG and Purple. Insane yes both the prices and the buds

  22. yo

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    bottom line. somone is paying 300 an oz and charging you 500. id be pissed if i where you. also, grasscity is predominately populated eith 15 year olds…….15 year olds pay 120 a qt. on another note. purple bud ranks on the bottom of the spectrum for potency. that right there is the key to knowing you dont know what your talking about and are getting analy abused. also the amsterdam comment was kinda cute…….amsterdam is notorious for ripping off tourists like yourself with mediocre crap for top dollar euro. seriously dude this is from everyone on MJ review…….kill your dealer!!! (sarcasm)

  23. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    It is cool ya’ll. Have any of you that are complaining ever even smoked a legit GDP or Irene Kush. As well I feel kinda good about paying $500 an ounce for the best bud I have ever smoked when dispensaries in Michigan are charging $275 a half and some dispensaries in Cali are charging $25-$30 a gram and $130 or $140 a quarter for GDP and some Kushes. Peace out and sorry that the price I have got to pay has caused such an uproar, everyone else where I live pays that for the best and alot of people in Cali and Michigan have to pay even more for the best bud. Check out the prices for totally legit A+ GDP and OG Kush on this website. Now I kind of feel like $500 for insanely good buds is a bargain.

  24. Drums

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    Dude…most people here (with the exception of a few idiots) are only trying to help you. That $ is insane. Period. Why try to defend it?

  25. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    All I am saying is that is what I have got to pay for those best buds and everyone else in my area and even in Cali and Michigan. That is all I am saying. It is what it is and if I could make those prices real cheap I would be the first one to do so.

  26. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    And you are so right drums $500 is expensively insane. I just was looking at some Apothocary 420 prices the Fire OG is 90 an 1/8th Cash and no breaks(what is that $720 oz.) that is insane as well. I see from the reviews that the buds at Apothecary are insanely great but insanely expensive. Top grade marijuana is indeed excessively priced and even standard lower grade weed is expensive. Also you see the price for the Irene kush is $400-$500(More in Atlanta). It is all who you know and I do not know many people and do not grow and get it for free. I do need it, I broke my back in 5 places years ago. Whew I am just gald I have a $350 oz. option these days. Actually had a few kushes and AK-47 for that price that were every bit of an A+. Now that price to quality ratio is hard to beat. Peace and everyone have a good evening.

  27. says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    @deepsouth
    “I see from the reviews that the buds at Apothecary are…insanely expensive”
    You literally picked one of the most expensive out of all the dispensaries in Los Angeles to make your comparison, and it’s in no way representative of the rest Cali dispensaries.

    http://forum.nuggetry.com/showthread.php?t=277&p=11730&viewfull=1#post11730
    Afgoo SAGE $100 for a half ounce and from a Cali dispensary. Now that price to quality ratio is hard to beat…

  28. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    I picked Apothecary because I understand that they have some insane buds for an insane price and the buds they are offering are close to the quality of the $500 Granddaddy Purple and Kushes in the South. I see other places like High Altitude, the Weed, the Dank depot, dispenseries in San Diego that are selling some B+ or A for $55-$60 an 1/8th. Look at all the prices for OG Kushes and Grandaddy Puprle most are a standard $25 a gram. Some less, but they look less in quality too. It is agreed that weed prices are insane from coast to coast especially where I live. Here is a solution for the crazy prices in Cali at some shops. Everyone needs to shop at Nuggetry/CPA where they have all of those insanely beautiful buds for $17 or $18 a gram. I love to look at those reviews the buds are gorgeous and many different strains look quite similar, must be the same greenthumb grower growing all of the strains. The solution for the $500 oz. of the best Purple and Best Kushes in the south is to smoke the $350 that is damn good or move to Canada or Cali. I am too glad that I do not have to pay $20 a gram like 80% of all of the standard average buds at dispenseries. I will say that it looks like Denver is right on time with their prices 30-40 for an eight, that is right on the money, but they are not Grandaddy purples or Fire OG kushes. But I am sure they are nice none the less. Peace out and everyone have a good night.

  29. ulysses_s_plant

    says:

    on Dec 14, 2011

    a.) that bud looks like shit.

    b.) “feels like 60/40″ lmfao like anyone can tell the ratio of sativa to indica in a bud without having the fucking genetics

  30. Drums

    says:

    on Dec 15, 2011

    ^ I, and I believe most here, can and do give a rough approx of indy/sat.

  31. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 15, 2011

    Most listings for OG Kush are 60% Sativa/40% Indica. I do not know for sure about the Irene Kush since it was bred from OG Kush bagseed, tinkered around with and perhaps recrossed. It felt about like roughly 60/40 though 60 percent Sativa frying my brain and I guess about 40% Indica melting my body. Granddaddy Purple is about the opposite 60-70% Indica melting your muscles and 30-40% soaring through your brain.

  32. DeepSouth

    says:

    on Dec 16, 2011

    MDZ, have you ever smoked Grandaddy Purple, Og Kush, God’s Gift or New York City Sour Diesel for $350? I was looking for your reviews to see what you are smoking? What gnarly strains are you smoking on?

  33. says:

    on Apr 24, 2013

    REVIEW IS DEAD ON.. BUT THE PICTURES IS OFF.. IRENE DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THAT BUT THE WAY YOU DESCRIBED IT I KNOW YOU HAD IT. AROUND THIS TIME IRENE WAS GOING FOR 400 A ZIP. AND ITS THE BEST SHIT I EVER SMOKED

  34. says:

    on Apr 24, 2013

    HAVENT SEEN IT IN A YEAR OR SO ALSO… WITH THE PRICE DROPS.

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?