Mastodon Kush – Homegrown (McDabbers503)

4

There’s not much that impresses me more than you guys growing your own fire meds.  Mcdabbers503 put some TLC into this batch of Mastodon Kush.  –Tokeahontas

Submitted By:
Camera Used:
iPhone 5
Strain Name:
Mastodon Kush
Genetics:
Master Kush x Bubba Kush
From:
Homegrown
Rating:
4.  
This is a great bud. I love it but it's not perfect for smoking all the time .It's very frosty and smells great, like a spicy earthy kush. Plus the taste is pretty good.
Type:
This plant is about 95% indica. It's made from 2 old school Kushes giving it a great old school kush feel.
Price:
I got over 2 ounces on this plant somewhere around 3. It was rather cheap considering I only paid for nutrients, lights, soil etc...
Looks:

It’s light green, very frosty, and has a few remaining parts of some leafs.  The buds are dense and slightly pointed but very round and fat.  You can look down between the parts of bud and see it is thick with trichs.  The trichs are mostly cloudy but a few amber trichs can be found as well.  The hairs are very thin and orange.  They are all over the bud but covered up in some areas.  I guess the trim job could be a little better.

Smell:

The smell inside the jar is dank.  It’s very earthy with a spicy undertone.  Break a nug open and the spicy undertone is brought out and accompanied by a musty smell.  It is very kushy and it reminds me of Master more than any of my other cuts.  While the smell isn’t super loud it is a good earthy smell that is quite strong.  It’s just not leaking from the jar lid status.

Taste:

From a freshly cleaned water pipe with a hot glass rod, it had little taste on the inhale maybe some light musky earthy taste.  The inhale has a very light generic Kush taste, but the exhale sure has a little more to offer in the taste department.  On the exhale there is a bit stronger of a taste.  It is very similar to the smell– a spicy kushy taste with a very earthy undertone.  I am remembered of Master Kush every time I hit this bud.  It may not be super delicious but it has a fair amount of a tasty kush flavor.

Out of a pipe the taste is not only stronger but better.  It has a lot more on the inhale.  The exhale also seems to have picked up a piney slightly OG flavor.

Overall this is a great tasting Kush and I would recommend it to any Kush lover.

Buzz Type:

This cut of Mastodon is extremely stoney.  I use this flower to help me sleep at night. At first inhale, you start to feel it behind the eyes.  After the small amount of coughing I start to feel it down into my back.  It then begins to relax your back mostly in the lower back, then it moves to a stoney head high making you a little slow and very relaxed.  After a few hits and a little time you feel it in the face.  It’s very stoney right in the center of your face making you just want to close your eyes and rest. Overall, I like to smoke this about half an hour before bed.  It has a pretty rough come down but I prefer to go to sleep while I’m still medicated from it.

Buzz Length:

1 hour in and you can feel yourself starting to sober up.  But for most people they would be still plenty medicated.  Before 2 hours comes around it’s time to medicate again.

Overall:

Overall I’m quite happy with this strain.  2/3 of the cuts I was happy with and even kept one as a mother plant. It has an awesome stone.  Cuts that smell and look like bubba kush are easy to find also, if master kush doesn’t sound appealing.  I would recommend this strain to any kush lover or people with pain, sleeping problems and it even does a good job with appetite.  I included one pic of the mother plant as I don’t have pics from flower.  –McDabbers503


25 Comments | Add Yours

  1. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Nice grow McD sounds like a lovely kush I'm a big fan of both the parents in this cross

  2. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Very nice! Great review McDabbers503

  3. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Sounds like an awesome hybrid… I've only had master kush once and it was some serious fire. I can always find some bubba up here in the big sky tho.

  4. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Dankss for the good detail, great pics and very informative job McDabbers!! ~ƸӜƷTake care and keep toking always, Tina TokerƸӜƷ~

  5. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    another supposed homegrow wiith zero details on the grow…………………….come on ppl if your growing this plant you should know what kind of lights/how many watts, size pots, nutes, etc

    • says:

      on Jun 26, 2013

      Hey Chitown you're obviously right about this (homegrow) being made up. The plant was a file pic and would've obviously yielded closer to 6-8 oz if given that type of light in a 7 gallon pot. If the pic of the plant is a file pic..it was stolen from another site.

  6. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    2x 1000watts sodiums eye hortilux enhanced spectrum
    7 gallon pots with 2 parts fox farms ocean forest and 1 part fox farms light warrior
    I use RO water some days with a Ph of 6.1 to 6.5
    Some days I use fox farms line up with a few additives with a Ph of 6.1 to 6.5

    Done being a know it all ass hole Chitown?

  7. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    I also add some micro enzymes to the soil to help promote a health root system

    This plant was from seed but the mother plant you see is a clone

    Go be a troll else where

  8. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Or are you just jealous u can't grow meds like these :D

  9. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Oh my temps stay around 76f to 79f in the day and my temps get down to as low as 65f some night

    My humidity was around 35% most the grow

    Any other details you want????

  10. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Oh my hoods are sun system I have 2x Ochos and 8 and a 6 inch

    My inline fan is a 6 inch mounted on the ceiling it blows out into my veg room using flexible duct

    The room is completely light proof yad yad yad

    Shall I continue? Or is this review "believe able now"

  11. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Oh and I used an auto trimmer on this plant, not sure what more I can say?

    • says:

      on Jun 26, 2013

      how long veg/ flower???? almost there lmao

      jealous??? with 2000w i sure as fuck would be getting more trichs then that…..

      and i would recomend ditching the auto trimmer buds look like shitt lol

  12. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    I have had this cross just a different name. Had to have a stash of something different for the day. Nice review.

  13. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    I have had this cross just a different name. Had to have a stash of something different for the day. Nice review!

  14. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Thank you for all the positive comments :)

  15. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Very nice.

  16. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Lol Get the fuck out Chitown your such a troll get over it, your just mad cuz u left your smart ass comment feeling all high and mighty and u were wrong cuz I acually happened to have growen this

    Now try acting like a man and just be wrong

  17. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    And P.S smart guy the level of tric's has nothing to do with watts

    Watts would account for weight and height, level of growth and level of photosynthesis

    The tric's would come from the spectrum the night cycle and the wind an the heat (as tric's are formed as a way to protect the plant from harmful things such as certain rays produced from the sun and moon and also to protect its self from wind… ect.)

    Not the watts but nice try, mr know it all

    • says:

      on Jun 26, 2013

      I have also heard you can increase trich production with increase of potassium during the flower. Is this correct or am I being misinformed?

  18. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    lol nice grow how you cure your buds everyone does it different

  19. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    Well I guess someone is a little defensive about some people calling out their bs and took the time to make up a bunch of specs. All I can say is you sir do not grow! "Trichs come from spectrum of the night cycle"..haha thats just funny. No, it has to do with wattage/lumens./spectrum first and foremost then second is having a good p/k fertilizer and eliminating the nitrogen once you switch to 12/12. This crap is made up and chitown was one of the few to recognize it. Also I say fuck mastadon kush…anybody who wants a masterxbubba that is ten times better should go get the xxx cut from progressive options; it makes this look like schwag

  20. says:

    on Jun 26, 2013

    HOLY COW BATMAN!! rather intense replies are found here. maybe its me, or that maybe i hung out with 2 many indians smokin the peacepipe tonight. its just seems to me that the focus should be on picture #2 & #4. i swear almost dead center and a smidge to the left is not plant matter. it has to be a hair from my neighbor lady's little shitzu. pic #4 has most definitely something that is NOT plant matter. almost dead center and hangin to the right. pretty sure thats the dental floss i pulled out of my teeth after a scene made in 1985 w/christy canyon. just sayin empathy and sympathy are 2 different things. chill

  21. says:

    on Jun 27, 2013

    Howitisson how the fuck do you know if he grew this I swear your the most useless person in this site claim you know everything but you have submitted three shit reviews with one crappy pic so stop being such a troll you produce nothing good for this site ever please just leave if you have no positive things to offer

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?