Old Betsy From Private Grower (Drums)

3

Almost a year ago, drums posted this Old Betsy review and it got a lot of people talking.  We have a lot of new members since then, so I’m interested to see what you guys have to say about this new review of the same bud.  –Tokeahontas

Submitted By:
Strain Name:
Old Betsy
From:
Private Grower
Rating:
3.  
B
Type:
Sativa Dominant Hybrid
Price:
Priceless.... but free
Looks:

Like no other.  My last Old Betsy review had people calling it “whack/etc.”  This is a clone from that, and it’s just as whacky.  I said that it seemed as if there’s no real flowers… that it just seems like tightly wound leaves.  Well, as you can see from the plant, it still appears that way. Most unusual plant my man has ever seen.

People would be checking out his garden (LAC and Lemon Skunk mostly) and stumble across this one little weird plant and say: “What the heck is *this*??”  The “bud” shown here is just pieces of one small bud.  Sorry.  See explanation below.

Smell:

Pepper.  Old school.  Reminds me of Acapulco Gold or something.  Brings me back to The Day.

Taste:

Similar.  Kind of like Jack. Always loved that.

Buzz Type:

Trippy.  Sometimes too much so.  Inconsistent.  Sometimes it’s uplifting, sometimes it’ll knock me sideways. I n the words of the grower’s granddaughter: “Betsy’s a bitch.”

Buzz Length:

Same inconsistency.  I lost my mind for several hours one day. Another day I had a nice buzz for an hour.

Overall:

This really is just a continuation of my previous review.  Sadly, I only had one small bud that was picked early.  My man decided there *might* be mold on this (I never saw any).  We didn’t want to chance it, so it’s being made into what I’m sure will be A++ grade cannabutter.  Hence the B grade.

Very small yield, not easy to grow, and possible mold = a very rare herb.  I think if some pro grower got a hold of this it would become legend.  –drums


15 Comments | Add Yours

  1. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    u almost never see or smell the molds u smoke the brown is a good indicator of mold same with any other discoloration it should fall appart easy and make u cough and… the moldy buds iv smoked on accident always seem to get me way higher almost trippin

  2. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    also of anyway to get rid of moldy bud eatring is the worst, shit will grow in your damp dark belly… this is what you should do with it in the order i choose
    1 throw it out
    2 BHO
    3 Hash
    4 smoke it
    never cook with moldy buds are lungs can filter out spoors but not are tummys

    • says:

      on Dec 2, 2012

      I would never blast with moldy buds. You have to remember during the extraction process, it will concentrate the mold in the bud too, and you definitely dont want to be dabbing that shit, at all. Make some cold water bubble hash, should make the best smokeable product with moldy buds.

      • says:

        on Dec 2, 2012

        my top choice with moldy bud is to throw it out but i figured oil screens would take out alot of the spores then your oil rig water should remove a few more not sure about bubble tho probably a good way if you refuse to trash it

  3. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    sorry for a third comment but brown stripes or brown on the stem is another good indicator. stay safe nuggetry only smoke good buds from growers you trust im glad this man told you it mite of ben moldy insted of just seeling it

  4. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    So you're saying this was harvested early, and all that amber is something other than mature trichs? I probably wouldn't have smoked this, even with the heads in tact like they are, all that brown scares me. Mold could also explain why the high was so different all the time. I would def like to try a clean sample of this leafy mess though.

  5. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    LOoks like it was trying to reveg, and the buds honestly look like a caterpillar got to them. I had the same problem a few grows back outdoors. It has the same effects on the buds, when easily touched their very brittle..

    • says:

      on Dec 2, 2012

      lol when the cylaxes unroll and make weird lookin leaves, haha my vortex did that after i threw her back in veg after harvest got lots of clones before i finally killed her

  6. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    Honestly that looks like it would be some great herb if it was grown indoors or not in a humid environment. The calyx structure makes me think og when I see it. Regardless many people are putting in their two cents but I guess none of them grow since they call it mold; the bud doesn't show mold. You can see remnants of powder mildew on the leaves which is not good but usually means the plant was started from clone and had issues from where it was kept indoors. I say either take a close look to see if the mildew got on the bud and do a real close manicure; you could probably still smoke it. Maybe use a vape to see if you pick up on any bad flavors. If not break out the bubble bags. I guarantee whatever herb that was blew away the La Con and Lemon Skunk. Hey you must be in Lake Forest/Mission Viejo where that kid grow massive amounts of LAC and Lemon Skunk indoors in soil…enjoy

    • says:

      on Dec 2, 2012

      ur right i see some Pm on the leafs that would cause it to dry n cure brown in some areas but Pm also can lead to bud rot very easly and DEPENDING on the spore type the mold that "COULD" have formed in the buds can modify the medical feeling.

  7. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    I understand the Grower,Climate Change is making it really dificult to Outdoor Growers in humid places,he decided to cut early to not loose the entire crop or something,I only whish for him to had make some seeds out of that,looks fire even though under develope,the caterpillar issue that happend in lower buds does not mean the hole plants is fuck

  8. says:

    on Dec 3, 2012

    I'll see if I can get the grower to weigh in. We do see caterpillars, but he prefers to pick them off rather than spray anything.

  9. says:

    on Dec 6, 2012

    Nice to see "Old Betsy". It even has a name that sounds like it's an old school growers favorite. Maybe why it reminds you of Acapulco Gold or some old landrace strain.

    It's cool to see your passion for this review almost a whole year later!

    • says:

      on Dec 6, 2012

      Thanks. Due to the comments here though, I'm afraid to do anything with it. :( But I hope the grower tries again. The grower(s) are 60+, so "old school" for sure. We all hear that "pot is blah blah % more potent than 20 years ago/etc". In general, that's undoubtably true. However, I can remember herbs back in the day (Acapulco, Santa Marta, Thai) that got me as much or more blasted than anything available today. This is as close to anything I remember from back then. (Jack Herer is also *similar*)

      • says:

        on Dec 6, 2012

        It does sound like a hard grow from what I have read. Maybe a friend could try a cycle indoors and see what factors are an issue.

        I know just what you are saying. To me the old school strains of my generation are some of my favorites, if grown PROPER. A lot of the early cut's from the 80's & 90's I dig. All the legit original's: Skunk, NL, Jack, Chem crosses, Strawberry Cough, Blueberry (the old '91 cut, very skunky with less blueberry than other cuts). They don't hold up to a good OG (Ha I said it LOL.) But I would never not want to smoke/grow them again. I might prefer some, all depends on my preference at the time.

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?