Pre 98 Bubba Kush (Kush Connoisseur)

4

Now that I own a medical marijuana dispensary myself, I get a chance to talk to a lot of vendors/growers that have been doing this for a very long time.

To be honest, I am a little skeptical that Pre 98 Bubba even exists anymore. That being said, take a look at this Bubba review from MR member Kush Connoisseur.

Pre 98 Bubba

Submitted By: Kush Connoisseur (Member)

Camera Used: Sony Cybershot DSC-H10 8.1MP Digital Camera

Name: Pre 98 Bubba Kush

From: Venice Beach Collective (DispensariesLos Angeles)

Grade: A

Type: Indica

Price: $45/8th

Looks: Delicious! Purple and green buds that have been taken over with orange hairs and crystals.

Smell: Imagine that regular Bubba smell, amplified 10 times danker.

Taste: Easy on the throat, but it’ll make you cough once you hit the roach.

Buzz Type: Heavy indica. Don’t smoke this if you have errands that need to be done.

Buzz Length: Long. I was saving this one for a week or so (which is a pretty big deal for me). Needless to say the bud had me buzzing for about 2+ hours which is pretty respectable in my professional opinion.

Overall: I was impressed with this Pre 98 Bubba.  I started seeing more collectives carry this strain after this club. If you run into some Pre-98 then I would highly recommend you try it out.  –Kush Connoisseur

Pre 98 Bubba Kush

Related Reviews

Pre 98 Bubba Kush – Another review of the same strain.

Bubba Kush – I use to really like Bubba Kush until I started smoking OG Kush on a regular basis.

Kush – A link to every Kush on Marijuana Reviews. I am not sure there is a more popular strain available right now.

OG Kush – And at the top of this kush list as far as popularity goes is the one and only OG Kush. If you have not seen it yet, check this out.

Random Reviews

Winter Games are Coming!

Hammerhead

Arjan’s Haze

Reseda Discount Caregivers

More From Around The Web

Marijuana Reviews Forum

Medical Marijuana Dispensary Directory

39 Comments | Add Yours

  1. jbone204

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    looks wonderful, can somebody explain to me the difference in pre 98′ buds, ive seen that a lot and never quite understood it. Are the genetics different or just more refined?

  2. m1ke

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    wow, that is some amazing looking nugs there. i would really like to try some of this, never had this combo before

  3. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    its old genetics which some people love, its also a marketing gimic, which the whole kush thing is in Cali any way. what most people call kush has no actual cannabis from the kush regions in the genetics. you wouldnt call something afghan if it had no afghan in the genetics would you? to me i think you could take anything with thick orange hairs tight nugs and a dank pungent smell, what people call that “kushy” smell even though you can get the same smell from growing other strains that are not kush, and sell it as kush, as long as its good, and has a knock out indica buzz. and i dont think even the most “professional” smoker could tell the difference. especially when all the Kush in CA are just mixed genetics anyway thats why there are so damn many. all this being said that is some fantastic looking cannabis there. and i would love to smoke it.

  4. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    i guess what im trying to say in that long drawn out statement is the only thing that makes most kush strains a KUSH strain is the name. nothing more. someone had some dank and called it Kush. so grow your own. come out with some stinky, sticky, tight nugs, and call it Purple People Eater Kush, and people will buy the hell out of it just for the name. and someone cant say its not kush, because after all, these days its just a name.

  5. Zeedee

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    Man, I got to say this is a Great site. I plan on moving to cali soon and this web site provides all the info I need when I get my mm recommendation. Thanks guys and keep up the GREAT work

    • says:

      on Dec 23, 2009

      @Zeedee: Thank you. :)

      Mrs. Chubbs and I have some big things in store for MR in the near future. :)

      –Chubbs

  6. m1ke

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    not exactly, if it is a genuine kush strain, they will have genuine kush genetics in it, that explains the similar growth and development amongst the more purebred of strains. Sure many are crossed with others, but for benefit more than anything and it still again, remains with kush genetics in it.

    I think your beef is with your average joe calling the dank kush, just cause it smells strong and their inexperienced nose can’t tell the difference between smells anyway, they can just tell what has a strong odour or not. Really, any bud, whether it has a name or not can be grown shitty or treated horribly and be worthless..

  7. Caregiver

    says:

    on Dec 20, 2009

    Ummmmmm……Stapleface, Kush comes from the “Hindu Kush” region of Afghanistan. Sorry dude any respectable herbalist will know the difference based on the leaf formation they are fat as hell. Non the less this herb looks smokable and tasty.

  8. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    Ummmm Caregiver, the “fat as hell leaves” come from being an Indica strain, any respectable herbalist as you say, would know that. and m1ke i have no beef with anyone, i just dont like something to be called what it isnt. I have no experience with bubba so is it bubblegum x OG? then where is the kush in the genetics? the actual kush i mean? with OG Kush everyone says indica in their reviews. no genetics because they dont know them. it says kush so they agree to the advertisement. i am just asking for some proof that there is actual kush genetics in these strains, and that is just not a huge marketing scam. not saying what is marketed as kush isnt fantastic because it apparently is. yeah thats what im looking for, someone to prove to me the OG Kush has genetics from the kush region in them. not too much too ask considering there seems to be sooo many kush experts in Cali these days.

  9. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    not trying to sound rude or anything here folks, im just curious thats all. stapleface420@yahoo.com if anyone feels like responding with any kind of info for me. i have thought about this for a while, just i am asking you people here on marijuanareviews.com because alot of you are in cali so i would think you guys could give me the best answers. though who am i to ask right? no one just wondering how a single strain got so big. and if there is something more behind the story.

  10. says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    man chubbs impressive nugs
    very beautiful
    I have been to the Venice beach collective in the past,they have good variety and staff is always friendly

  11. demo11

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    @stapleface. you are right, anyone could call a strain kush if it looked and smelled like it, but any expierienced kush smoker would know its not about smell or look its about taste. if someone has crazy bud and call it kush, if i taste it in a joint and it doesnt have the signature amazing kush taste, its not kush.

  12. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    to LA Gino: thats more or less what im trying to say. lmao. also im saying that what is marketed as kush might not actually have any landrace kush in its genes. sure what is marketed as kush there may have a certain taste because thats whats grown and sold as kush and you know that as the kush taste. im saying is it really kush? not just a hard hitting indica that many years ago someone decided to call kush and now after all these years has been established in people minds as kush even though it really isnt. if you took pepsi somewhere that didnt know the difference years ago and marketed it as coca cola, and after many years took real coca cola somewhere you couldnt tell them that what they have been drinking isnt coca cola, because thats what they know it to be. get my point? you say kush, and kushy taste, so what makes it kush, and a kushy taste? only genetics make something what they are, not a taste or a smell. unless you stabilize something like say lemon skunk, which is just skunk with a lemon flavor stabilized through breeding. but is still skunk. they didnt call it lemon kush. because its not kush. though they could have and probably sell more of it. im just wondering about this shit thats all. i think its interesting. whatever you call it these “kush” strains i see on here mostly look fantastic. im a big indica fan, and body highs help with my nausea. i think what im mainly trying to accomplish is to figure out what these strains are, where they started, because its damn near impossible to get good “kush” on the east coast. and if i could get down to the basics of what these really good indica’s you are working with are then i could use this to my advantage as a grower. apparently these are either clone only varieties, or the strains parent plants and seeds are guarded tightly. im on a mission :) . and trying to learn as much as i can along the way.

  13. Stapleface

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    also, i will say i could be wrong about this whole theory, because it is just that at this point. im willing to be proven wrong, or right, which ever the case may be.

  14. jbone204

    says:

    on Dec 21, 2009

    i think you should take this to the forum if it bothers/interests you to this point

  15. valluco

    says:

    on Dec 22, 2009

    i agree take that stuff to the forums! too many chiefs not enough indians

  16. valluco

    says:

    on Dec 22, 2009

    any body know where to get afgani bullrider seeds at?????

  17. m1ke

    says:

    on Dec 22, 2009

    lol, i took one about the purple kush seeds and got one reply??? whats the deal… in member chat and main.

    :)

  18. demo11

    says:

    on Dec 24, 2009

    i know where to get bullrider#21 seeds, but not afghani bullrider

  19. 7148

    says:

    on Dec 30, 2009

    just picked up an 8th of some pre98 bubba kush. i ground up about a .7 nug and loaded a decent snap in the bong. when smoking, the taste was a pleasant and sweet. almost a berry-lavender mix. i took the snap, and about 5 seconds after exhale, i was too high to want to smoke more. this has literally NEVER happened to me before. i am a daily smoker and smoke an eighth minimum a day, recently more due to back pain. this is by far one of THE BEST strains i have ever smoked!

  20. says:

    on Feb 26, 2010

    man o man. what i would do to get my hands on some pre 98 bubba kush.. strait banger

  21. NugSavioso

    says:

    on Apr 22, 2010

    Definitely looks kushy. The 98′tends to have those purple tones..tastes amazing til the last hit.

  22. says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    Pre 98 bubba is just bubba kush with purple hues in it. No doubt that pre 98 bubba is awesome but there a lot of other bubba kush variations that are just as good and even come with those distinct purple hues.

  23. thew

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    that is some beautiful bubba
    take it in tho, can probably chop that for 320 a zip/cdn

  24. BUDconnoisseur89

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    nothing like the bubba kush iv had that looks 10 times better

  25. H1JACK3R

    says:

    on Apr 29, 2010

    I’ve never had any sort of Bubba Kush. I obviously don’t feel qualified to comment as to whether or not ‘pre-98′ does or does not infact exist.

    I can comment that after seeing this, I will be on the look out for some bubba kush in the future.

    Peace.

    • Nuglife

      says:

      on May 1, 2010

      Thank you for clearing that up wheezer, I was wondering that too, good looking out homie

  26. wheezer

    says:

    on Apr 29, 2010

    @wiggabee: dude, where do you get your info from.” the only difference between pre98 bubba and buubba is purple hues”?!?!?!?! pre 98 Bubba Kush was before they started crossing it witheverthing to bring up the yield, because it was a notoriously slow vegging and would not get big at all! That’s it! I have been reading these comments the last 2 days and commenting trying to win this bong like everyone else is, but this website is for “honest and accurate” reviews and comments. I know you are trying to win the bong but please for your own sake stop making comments that you do not know what your talking about. It just adds more confusion to people who don’t know and are trying to learn. I am not a hater on here, and I don’t usually give anyone any crap, but enough already. I doubt seriously if you were even smoking in 98.

  27. says:

    on May 1, 2010

    that looks like some terrific marijuana you have there. i’m always trying to find stuff like this since it is so perfect. i always get dank but i just feel like a king when i smoke purp, like it gets me higher or something. does anyone happen to know the genetics? im thinking it might have some kush it ins family tree=]

  28. says:

    on May 1, 2010

    hahahaha nevermind. i’m way to high i forgot this was bubba kush.

  29. stak

    says:

    on May 1, 2010

    nice review. thanks for clearing that up wheezer. i was wondering what the diff was between this bubba and the normal bubba i come across

  30. Nuglife

    says:

    on May 1, 2010

    Looks like a steal for 45/an 8th. I’m impressed with the pictures, and I always love a good Bubba Kush

  31. says:

    on May 6, 2010

    heck ya 45 an 8th is an awesome price.

  32. says:

    on May 6, 2010

    THIS pre 98 got me interested, i see it a lot but i dont pik it up

  33. azmurs

    says:

    on Aug 20, 2010

    One of my buddies brought pre 98 bubba clones and i just had my first harvest. I let the nugs cure for 6 weeks.I snapped what my buddies and I call a “man bowl” bowl packed all the way to the top and now i can say i am hippy stoned haha

  34. Bert

    says:

    on Feb 18, 2011

    I have a beautiful Pre98Bubba from seed that is in 4th week of bloom. Small colorful nuggets and beautiful, short and squat. Her mate is a 3rd Re-Generation AFGOO. One of the Goo’s which is some of the best weed I have smoked stateside was a male. So I have a lot of pollen from a very potent 3rd gen plant. It tastes like Medicine. I am planning on mating the Goo with the Pre98 Bubba

  35. says:

    on Jun 20, 2011

    Pre98 is almost gone. 5 people in the world have the cut. Check this out. Might clear this up.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x2qBscpgGEI

  36. FrankG

    says:

    on Sep 12, 2011

    Recommended at my dispensary when I asked for an indica, and this bud made me really appreciate indica strains more. I’d thought that I preferred sativas but after Pre 98 Bubba I started buying more, like Tahoe Kush and Blackberry Kush. Love them. And in comparison I think the 98 Bubba strong. Really dense, pretty nugs.

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?