Red Dragon (Barney’s)

4

While sitting in Barney’s one night all by myself, I decided to buy some Red Dragon to mix with the Utopia Haze and Triple Zero Hash I had in a fat snake-in-the-grass. Take a look

From: Barney’s (Coffee Shop)

Grade: A

Type: Hybrid

Price: Appx. $10/Gram

Looks: Awesome. Really tight lime green nugs covered in wild orange hairs.

Smell: Very strong/danky pine smell with a hint of fruit.

Taste: Strong thick smoke that leaves a bitter taste in your mouth. You know your smoking good stuff.

Buzz Type: The buzz from Red Dragon snuck up on me. I smoked a little in my pipe before leaving Barney’s to go roll up the rest and it took a bit to hit me. Definite creeper.

Buzz Length: Long. In my opinion the best thing about Red Dragon is how long it kept me high.

Overall: A great bud from a great shop. The next time I am in Amsterdam, Red Dragon is definitely on my short list of buds to smoke again. A Marijuana Reviews Top Pick!

ABOVE – The Snake-In-The-Grass I Rolled.

Buzz Report: By itself, Red Dragon is a great strain. But let me tell you, when mixed with some Utopia Haze and some Triple Zero Hash, it is down right wicked! I should of named this joint the Barney’s Triple Threat. It was a beast.  –Chubbs

42 Comments | Add Yours

  1. says:

    on Dec 13, 2008

    Sounds like really good bud.

    So hairy!

    Cool it made Top Pick and stuff.

    How long did the buzz length last?

  2. says:

    on Dec 13, 2008

    I was high for a good hour and a half. I smoked a bowl, walked back to my hotel, ground up to different types of bud, rolled up the snake and after that was still high.

  3. says:

    on Dec 14, 2008

    Looks like some fire Chubbs, Im pretty sure the genetics are a Himalayan kush X Pure Brazilian so that would explain the tight nugs, but still creeper high. Cant wait to sample that if its in stock. What was the best grass/hash you had that wasn’t an entry for the cup?

  4. says:

    on Dec 14, 2008

    The best non-cup bud I smoked was a tie between Jack Herer from De Tweede Kamer and Sweet Tooth from Barney’s.

    I only smoked cup entry hash. Of that the Greenhouse Ice got me the highest.

    • bruce

      says:

      on Nov 19, 2009

      i’m growing some red dragon right now…can’t wait to try it…that was intriguing what you said about “doing church”…I believe i think the same way-could you elaborate?

  5. says:

    on Dec 20, 2008

    for me first time in amsterdam
    red dragon was a geat smoke it lasted a long long time.and i havent had that in the uk for along time .
    i would love dearly to have this strain.
    too stoned to ask to buy the seed
    maybe next time. doing some church just now . wasnt inprested with sweet tooth not as strong or high as the cool RED DRAGON cannabanoid out

  6. says:

    on Dec 20, 2008

    any chance you could send me the link to were to buy the strain RED DRAGON
    plz.CANT FIND IT ON BARNEYS SEED SITE HELP .BIG WINNER IN MY EYES TITCH OUT

    • carlosthecat

      says:

      on Jan 31, 2009

      pickandmixseeds.co.uk or barneys seed farm

  7. hardlywrongoptimist

    says:

    on Feb 6, 2009

    I miss this stuff, had some just before the cup started this year and was one of the best smokes I found the whole time there. Most stuff was pretty disappointing but also enjoyed the Red Diesel from Barneys which was awesome. Pictures are great to remind me :) .

    • says:

      on Feb 6, 2009

      hardlywrongoptimist: Anything “Red” from Barney’s seems to be quality.

  8. hardlywrongoptimist

    says:

    on Feb 6, 2009

    titch email me at 200406@hushmail.com

  9. Dazed

    says:

    on Feb 12, 2009

    How was the high and was it intense? Red Dragon sounds like a treat a kush with a sativa?

    • says:

      on Feb 12, 2009

      Dazed: Buzz is killer. Definitely one that I will be hunting down again on my next rip to Amsterdam.

  10. dazed

    says:

    on Feb 13, 2009

    Sounds good Chubbs, will be my next grow…

  11. vegitator420

    says:

    on Mar 12, 2009

    This is looking like some real nice bud Chubbs.
    This was my friend and I’s choice for seeds.
    Can this be grown outdoor? I haven’t seen one grow bible or any pictures of someone growing it so i have no clue.
    I heard this plant yields 500 optimum indoor but id like to also know how much it yields out door and when this plant harvests.

    Nice Review

  12. Skelit0re

    says:

    on May 24, 2009

    lol nice hash sticks!!!

  13. shawn

    says:

    on Jun 30, 2009

    do you deliver to the u.s.a???

  14. says:

    on Sep 2, 2009

    Best punk I smoked while in amsterdam come november as soon as I get out that train station I’m going straight to barneys and buying some red dragon it impressed me that much!

  15. bob

    says:

    on Nov 8, 2009

    red dragon is without a doubt the best smoke ive ever had. I wish i could by it instead of the shitty dank weed we have to put up with. does any one know where i can find out on detail about the strain

  16. bruce

    says:

    on Nov 19, 2009

    try the attitude seed bank-thats were i got mine-growing some right now

  17. Japlaya

    says:

    on Nov 20, 2009

    Love the look of that “Triple Threat”

  18. aamber

    says:

    on Dec 19, 2009

    yo thats some dope herb right theere. !
    keep it up ,

  19. Gwac

    says:

    on Feb 14, 2010

    Me and 3 of my friends smoked this the other day. Everyone of us became really sketched out and paranoid. Like nothing we’ve ever smoked. I instantly assumed it was laced.

  20. chronicsd

    says:

    on Apr 3, 2010

    Just smoked two bowls of this. Strong indica buzz and major body waves. Reminded me of the old days..

  21. thew

    says:

    on Apr 28, 2010

    owwwwwww
    wish i had my hands on some red dragon
    or even some blue dragon

    this is straight fire

  22. stak

    says:

    on May 1, 2010

    after just commenting on how typically bud full of just redhair isnt very strong, i come across this atypical review of bomb redhair! nice one

  23. BUDconnoisseur89

    says:

    on May 1, 2010

    never heard of this strain but damn do you make it sound good lol and hash is to good not to use nice review

  24. acusage

    says:

    on May 11, 2010

    Just harvested and dried a short full plant 2 1/2 ft.. Netted about 2 ounces of beautiful trimmed buds.
    Smells and tastes wonderful. Very sweet flowery taste and not even cured yet.
    Very strong head high with nice underlying good body feeling. High lasted over 2 hours. It is at least 50% stronger than high quality commercial, yet I still feel totally in control. I ordered more seed today.

  25. jacob

    says:

    on May 23, 2010

    I got some right now. Really dank shit. and no need to travel to amsterdamn for this shit. just come to the local dispensery here in good ol Denver Colorado! xD

  26. NCbuds

    says:

    on Jun 13, 2010

    This is one of my favorite reviews on the site. love those little furry lime green hair balls

  27. eric

    says:

    on Jun 14, 2010

    Ive been to amsterdam a couple of times and the red dragon from barneys was one of the best out there.If you find your self in barneys you definetly should try the blue cheese and the roal jelly hash(o ya make shure you get their early cause the place is small and fills up fast but at least its not as small as the grey area which also has great weed).After your done smoking if you can move,cross the street and get something to eat at their resterant.I sugest breakfast,the bacon is awesome.

  28. says:

    on Jun 16, 2010

    This strand is pretty good, I enjoyed the taste.

  29. says:

    on Jun 16, 2010

    I love this website, gonna be making my first trip to Amsterdam this summer, supa stoked! Great reviews Chubbs, thanks mon!

  30. says:

    on Aug 24, 2010

    I’m totally interested in making this my must try lists of growing for one of these upcoming seasons! Utopia Haze X Himalayan Kush makes it a NASTY HYBRID. I’ve read the info on this strain and it entitles, “Narcotic Body Stone and Energetic Clear-Up High!”

  31. grownfolks

    says:

    on Nov 6, 2010

    I’m growing red dragon and the yeld looks wonderful. The budz are very nice size, colas like, whooo! Buds are dense, frosty, and look delicious. smell is kind of a pine, fruity. I want to post pictures. but, dont know how.

  32. GonjaGoblin

    says:

    on Jul 20, 2011

    got some S. lemon haze, train wreck,Red dragon ,fullmoon and Blackjack should have pics soon cant wait to try the Red Dragon and blackjack both make me very happy

  33. icarus

    says:

    on Jul 28, 2011

    i been growing this for about a year now, the shit makes a legit bush, its a good producer and beautiful product. respect chubbs, this is one of my all time fave strains

  34. da real puff daddy

    says:

    on Oct 1, 2011

    Real tasteful…. Had a cold and it felt like I didn’t have one at all … Two thumbs up…real takr

  35. Anguilla Rentals

    says:

    on Oct 24, 2011

    Anguilla is like a dream.
    If you never been to Anguilla, it is time to make that change.
    Anguilla is a lot more then beaches and hotels and villas.
    I love Anguilla.
    I can not wait to get back to Anguilla.
    I wish I cound stay in Anguilla all year.
    Anguilla is a great place to vist and the worst place to leave.
    Why can I not find more info on Anguilla.
    I need a trip to Anguilla.

  36. Nathan

    says:

    on Mar 18, 2012

    Growing Red Dragon outdoors in Australia. Prob 3 weeks off harvest. My plant is in the ground would be 5.5 foot tall and about 4 foot around. I grew from seed and tipped at about 8 inches then a couple of more times during veg so she has plenty of heads. Vegetation was slow to start off but the last couple of months before flowering it really powered into a beautiful bushy plant. Went from a few white hairs to good looking buds in about 2 weeks.Colas are nearly as thick as coke cans. I don’t like to touch my buds to much but they look and feel like they are Gona be nice and tight when they are done. Love the smell and the collie of the plant. Although I am yet to try any I really do recommend the Red Dragon for outdoor grow. Side branches are so thick and strong that it will withstand outside conditions no probs. I’m from South Australia where we have long hot and dry summers.

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?