Tahoe OG From Zen OC (MrCaliMatt420)

4

I’d like to be snowboarding in Tahoe while smoking on some Tahoe OG right about now.  –Tokeahontas

Submitted By:
Camera Used:
Cellphone
Strain Name:
Tahoe OG
From:
Zen OC (Dispensary - Garden Grove, CA)
Rating:
4.  
A
Type:
Indica
Price:
$18.00/gram, $50.00/eighth
Looks:

Well this is my first review on here but I have been down with the site back when before Nuggetry back when Chubbs had like two Youtube videos, so I thought it was about time to do a review so here it goes.

I came to Zen OC for the first time on Monday to try them out.  I looked at their flowers and I went with the Tahoe OG.  The Tahoe OG I got came with a big 1.7 gram bud and a couple mid-sized ones.  The flowers are light green with dark orange hairs.  The nugs are spongy to the touch and have lots of sugary trichomes sparkling like little diamonds.

Smell:

The smell was what you would expect a good OG to smell like, with a strong lemon fuel funk with undertones of sour pine.

Taste:

Out of my freshly cleaned 1 foot 8 arm straight tube, the only taste I could get was a burn sour plant flavor.

Buzz Type:

My first hit made me feel relaxed with a fuzziness in my then lowered eyes.  After 4 more big bowls I was nice and medicated, leaving me in a dreamy state that left my back and shoulders feeling heavy.

Buzz Length:

After 5 big bowls I was medicated for about 2 hours.

Overall:

The Tahoe OG I found at Zen OC was indeed some good medication to help me with my insomnia.  If you smoke too much during the day it will leave you nice and couch locked if you don’t fall asleep first.  I enjoyed this batch better than other batches I have had at other dispensaries.  –MrCaliMatt420


Collectives carrying "Tahoe Og":

15 Comments | Add Yours

  1. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    "After 5 big bowls I was nice and medicated". That's kinda funny. I guess you've got quite the tolerance but still recognize a nice strain. It'd be funny if you did a review on some lesser strains. "After 17 bowls of LA Confidential I was medicated, After 29 bowls of mace windu I was medicated, After 33 bowls of cat piss I was medicated, After 71 bowls of Granddaddy Purps, After 129 Bowls of Super Silver haze etc etc."

    • says:

      on Dec 1, 2012

      This comment is a perfect example of why I believe names are way over-rated. I have had "no name/personal breed " herb that has been on par with some of the best of OG's out there. Just like I have had Tahoe OG, that plain sucked. It wasn't dried proper, cured, flushed, barely made it through flowering. It was sparkling like crazy with a bland taste and short high.

      All those strains you named when grown proper are phenomenal and only preference sets them apart IMO.

      • says:

        on Dec 1, 2012

        Actually you are plain wrong. There are a lot of things that come into play when determining potency and I'll just guess you're not in Cali if you think og's are overrated. There are different type of thc..thcv etc..that contribute to the high as well as the turpenoids. CBD (strains like harlequin) does not seem to make buds that get you high but does help better than thc for pain. For whatever reason og's have that right combo of thc's and turps to hit you hard when you smoke them. Thats why an og with 22% thc might seem ten times stronger than a bubba kush or la con at 19% thc. Of course strains can be grown like crap but for veteran smokers who smoke the best, or take dabs, many can only get high off of og. You can take any purp, diesel, blue dream, bubba, la con, pretty much any strain from amsterdam minus a couple dna genetics and reserva pravada seeds (which are second rate) and give them to a master grower who has them covered in trichs and stinking to high hell. These strains still won't get you high for more than 5 minutes if you smoke the goods. Its the truth…find a true veteran smoker and they'll smoke nothing but og

        • says:

          on Dec 1, 2012

          HAHAHA..you make me laugh. Who are you to decide what a "true veteran smoker" smokes or doesn't smoke? I've been smoking for 13 years and I actually smoke more strains that aren't OG…just because an individual has been smoking for a long time doesn't always mean their tolerance is super high. I take tolerance breaks a few times out of the year, so pretty much anything in the 17% THC+ range gets me where I want to be..Of course if you smoke all day long, then even OG is not going to get you stoned and you will have to resort to butane extracted concentrates..Sooner or later even those won't get you high…

        • says:

          on Dec 2, 2012

          I am plain wrong?? All the strains you just listed originated in the U.S. Then brought to Amsterdam to work on by breeders. Changing them slowly into watered down version I agree. Mendocino Pup's is a great example. All those strains are 1. American breed and 2. can be some serious FIRE! And then the rest of the list:
          DJ Short’s Blueberry F5 x Santa Cruz Haze= Blue Dream
          OG x Westcoast Dog bx3 = Bubba Kush
          (Mass.SuperSkunk x Sinsi's NL) x ChemDawg '91 = Diesel/Underdawg
          O.G. LA Affie x Afghani= La Con

          All American strains. And WTF "true veteran smoker and they'll smoke nothing but og" I would like to think of my self as a veteran smoker as I have been smoking herb for 20 yrs now. But if I smoke any strain ALL the time, I will gain quit the tolerance for it. Switch what strains I puff on and I don't have an issue. Now that's the TRUTH.

        • says:

          on Dec 2, 2012

          howitisn'tson

          • says:

            on Dec 2, 2012

            caught up in the og hype, give him a few years maybe he'll learn lmfao, thx for the laughs!!

  2. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    5 bowls wow i dont envy your tollerence lol

  3. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    ^^^^^u need to get better samples of those strains lol

    well nice review big bummer bout the taste, should be super tasty!!

  4. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    I was going for a end of the day before bed KO buzz thats why I took 5 bowls about a half gram worth and I think my taste has been off because of smoking wax all day.

  5. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    It's always nice to see herb that inspires someones first review. Especially when they have been a long time member ;)

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    That's some pretty good Tahoe. The guy who owns Zen told me a while back that he has the SD Bullrider hook up, but it only comes through the shop maybe once a year at the most. Something for you sativa lovers to watch out for

  7. says:

    on Dec 1, 2012

    If it takes 5 bowls to get you medicated I really don't think it should be rated an A…

  8. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    og's do usually find theyre way back to experienced tokers and the og la affie cut iz john and g's they've been growin it 4ever to cross it with the sage and created the sour best shit ever emerald cup 2010 winner meing

  9. says:

    on Dec 2, 2012

    Just to chime in here:

    As someone who's smoked for bad anxiety the last 16 years I have to admit I do tend to lean towards the OG's that float around LA. On the by and by they do have more of the potent affects I look for to sedate me, and I do love the three main flavors you seem to find in good OG's – lemon, fuel and pine.

    At the end of the day you gotta realize what is driving growers to crank out OG's – demand from consumers. If enough people didn't like OG cuts then it'd fade back into MJ history like so many other strains have.

    Just my two cents…

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?