Green Angel of Malibu (Top Dispensary)

Green Angel of Malibu

No Website

21355 Pacific Coast Highway, Suite 100, Malibu CA. 90265 [Get Directions]

Phone: (310) 317-6298

Hours: Mon-Sat 10am – 8pm & Sun 12am – 7pm

green-angel-storefront

Two things, A) I know the picture of Green Angel’s storefront sucks. I was sitting in my car in the middle of PCH on a beautiful sunny day. It was hectic. Hopefully next time I go I can take my camera in and they’ll let me snap a picture or 2 of the green room, or maybe just the vapor room. We’ll see.

B) I don’t normally run home and write/publish a review but I feel like this is as much a public service announcement as it is a review. Southern California medical marijuana patients need to know about this place (unless you already do)

I can sum up my entire experience at Green Angel of Malibu yesterday in 3 words, “Class Act”. :)

Let me rewind a bit and give you the entire experience.

Living where I live in Orange County it’s about a 45 minute – 1 hour drive to Malibu with no traffic. Now if you know anything about the 405 freeway you know that the chances of there being no traffic are slim and none. But somehow yesterday the herb gods were with me and after leaving my house at noon, I found myself at the end of the 10 freeway in Santa Monica in about 45 minutes.

The drive from the end of the 10 freeway down PCH through Santa Monica is killer. You have the ocean on one side and cliffs and big mansions on the other. Much nicer drive than fighting my way through the Sepulveda pass.

Since this was my first time visiting Green Angel I did not really know exactly where they were and where I was going to park. It was a beautiful day yesterday and traffic on PCH was pretty heavy. I ended up driving right past the building and had to turn around and make my way back. Once I got it dialed in and figured out where they were things got much easier.

Green Angel is located in a building with a bunch of other offices and there is a nice size parking lot on the side and in the back. I pulled into one of the spots in the back and made my way to the front of the building via an outdoor hallway. Two steps into the hallway I recognized the oh so familiar scent of kind weed.

Suite 100 is located towards the front of the building. There is a buzzer you press when you walk up to the door and an attendant lets you in. The girl that let me in was also working the front desk. She took my ID and my medical marijuana recommendation and had me verified in minutes. Quick and painless which I like.

I walked out of the very comfortable lobby, around the corner expecting a door to the medicine room and instead found myself standing right in front of the display counter. Behind it was a menu that listed 50 or so strains that went from $40-60.

The budtender “Winston” introduced himself. I told him I was there for the first time and had heard good things about their “91″ strains. He proceeded to show me an 1/8th of 7 or 8 different REALLY good strains.

This place is TOP NOTCH. And I say that having visited a whole bunch of dispensaries. I felt that I was in a very safe, very comfortable setting with people who knew there bud and had one of the best selections I have ever seen. And by best I don’t just mean quantity, I am talking about some seriously high quality.

After inspecting many of their top shelf strains under a giant magnifying glass I decided to go with an 1/8th of Maliblu Dream (Blue Dream) and and 1/8th of some 91 Malibu Fire. I also picked up a 1/2 gram of some Delta 9 and a half gram of Red Amber Glass, both of which are some incredible scary looking concentrates. Reviews coming soon.

Blue Dream

Let me tell you, usually when I hit a dispensary and ask to see the best or most popular bud on the menu the budtender breaks out 2 or 3 strains and brags about how they are better than the rest. At Green Angel I really felt like there was a solid 7 or 8 strains minimum (probably more like 10-15) that I could of walked out with. This place is STOCKED.

When I dumped my 1/8th of Blue Dream onto the glass counter top I immediately noticed and commented on how it looked a lot different that the Blue Dream that I recently got from another dispensary. Winston did not miss a beat and said “this is how it’s suppose to look” with all the confidence in the world. And to be honest after smoking some I believe him.

I am not kidding when I tell you that he had 1/8′s of all kinds of fire for me to look at. Some 91 Chem Dawg that stunk up my nostrils, maybe permanently.

After having picked my 2 strains and asking Winston to see some of their best concentrates, he walked over to the freezer and grabbed a few glass vials of different high quality hash’s. I went with some Delta 9 which looked like some caramelized sugar and some Red Amber Glass that looked like just that, red, amber glass. This Red Amber Glass looks much different that the Amber Glass I have had in the past.

Delta 9 

I could not have been happier with either the service from Winston the budtender of the quality of the marijuana and hash I got.

After making my purchase I made my way to their vapor room which was appropriately as stocked at their medicine room. I don’t remember seeing a vaporizer but that is only because I was mesmerized by the selection of glass pieces on the coffee table. The room has 2 big couches, a coffee table between them and a big salt water aquarium at the back of the room. Very cool, very comfortable lounge vibe.

One thing I thought was funny is how they have the BIC lighters chained to the coffee table like pens at the bank. :)

I sat down an began to break up some Blue Dream. I grabbed a sick 3 chamber piece that had crystal clear water in it and proceeded to wipe down the mouth piece with one of the alcohol swabs they provide. There is a big bowl of individually wrapped swabs on the table along with a roll of paper towels. Kind of felt like I was at a good BBQ joint.

As I was packing my bowl another guy came in and packed a quick bowl, snapped it and bailed. I tried lighting my bowl and the lighter on my side was dead. Winston magically appeared with a fresh lighter and swapped it out. I ripped some Blue Dream but did not get the full effect as the bowl I was using was a bit clogged. I mentioned this to Winston and he immediately took the bowl and went to clean it.

As I was waiting for him another patron came in and sat down. This guy was much more friendly than the first. He said that he had been coming to Green Angel for a while and has never been served anything but the best, most high quality herb. He had just picked up an 1/8th of some CRAZY looking White Shark for $40.

Winston came back with a nice clean bowl for me along with a little bud of some Pure Kush that they recently sold out of. I snapped it and then some of the 91 Malibu Fire. I was feeling great when somehow some of the White Shark made it’s way into the bong I was using so I hit that as well.

Needless to say when I left Green Angel of Malibu I was very satisfied with the entire experience and was well medicated. :)   –Chubbs

Grade: A+

Pros: Location, Parking, Security, Great Vibe, Friendly Staff, Incredible Selection, Prices, ATM, Vapor Room

Cons: Malibu is far from my house, Can be tricky to find for the first time, PCH traffic sucks

Weed Map:


View Green Angel of Malibu in a larger map

Related Reviews

Harborside Health Center – Just as good as Green Angel but without the Vapor Room.

Reseda Discount Caregivers – Still one of the best dispensaries to go to for high quality sativas imo.

The Farmacy – Just not as comfortable a feeling as many of the other really good dispensaries I’ve visited.

Delta 9 Caregivers – One of the first dispensaries I ever went to. Have not been there for a while though. Have you?

Random Reviews

Afgoo

Mendo Master

Jolly Joker

707 OG Kush

58 Comments | Add Yours

  1. herbavore

    says:

    on May 8, 2009

    very nice

  2. says:

    on May 8, 2009

    I love the fact that you can smoke at their place. Sounds like an Amsterdam coffee shop vibe.

    I’ll have to check them out!

    • says:

      on May 8, 2009

      @necros: Not quite as out in the open as Amsterdam as it’s a small little lounge.

      But definitely a spot worth seeing. It’s actually my go-to dispensary now.

  3. steve-o

    says:

    on May 8, 2009

    what are the basic requirements you need for access to a place like this

    • says:

      on May 8, 2009

      @steve-o: 21 years of age, valid CA. Identification and a valid/current medical marijuana recommendation.

  4. Mervinthepersian

    says:

    on May 8, 2009

    Chubbs, I am SO GLAD you checked this place out! This is my all time, hands down favorite dispensary. The budtenders are all friendly and they make it a point NOT to rush you (unlike one dispensary in Woodland Hills that will not be named…yet). You’re right about their 91, it is all SUPER DANK. And I mean DANNNNKKKKK. I actually don’t go anywhere else anymore if I can help it for my bud. Good to see you thought the place deserved an A+ too (oh and the huge fish tank is amazing to sit and smoke next to!).

    • says:

      on May 9, 2009

      @Mervinthepersian: I plan on having all their 91′s reviewed in the next 14 days.

  5. jackandjack

    says:

    on May 8, 2009

    i think i will make the journey from OC as well.

  6. hollows

    says:

    on May 9, 2009

    Haha, I knew you’d like this place.

  7. says:

    on May 9, 2009

    sounds like a badass place. gonna definately make the trip soon!!!

  8. Jam

    says:

    on May 10, 2009

    how much can you buy per day?

  9. says:

    on May 10, 2009

    delta 9 looks absolutely amazing

  10. iloveweed

    says:

    on May 10, 2009

    yo wtf man!! idk what the point of having the “adult” age set at 18 if u arent treated as an adult! i can buy and kill myself with cigs at 18, spend all my money on lotto tickets at 18, go get shot or blown up for “FREEDOM” at 18 but i have 2 wait unitl im 21 to get DOCTOR prescribed MEDICATION that wont hurt me! THAT BS!!

    • says:

      on May 10, 2009

      @iloveweed: Yo chill. Try asking why first and maybe you’ll understand.

      Medical marijuana dispensaries operate safely SB420 and Prop. 215.

      Now the Feds play by different rules. And according to the Feds, anyone under 21 is a minor.

      They are only covering their butt. Nobody wants issues with the Feds.

  11. Dip Shit

    says:

    on May 11, 2009

    Glad you could all join us in the year 2009…where have you been?

    Along with every single 91, the Delta-9s at GAM must be tried- they are tolerance killers.

    The D9 Skywalker is the darkest and dankest, and the D9 Tahoe is some of the blondest I have smoked. AMAZING.

  12. Kubrickzghost

    says:

    on May 13, 2009

    This my #1 choice. It’s so good, I haven’t been to any other places for those free gifts. Green Angel offers the best meds I’ve seen, and the service matches the quality. By the way, the staff opens the doors for patients when they arrive and when they leave, so you will NEVER touch a door handle at this place. It sounds weird, but it’s cool as fuk actually. The patients are all nice and respectable. There’s no shady characters at this place. You can check out their daily specials at weedtracker. If you are new to the place, then I also suggest looking under their glass display. Under the glass, they offer these discounted deals on top shelf meds (odd-shaped 1/8′s, older top shelf batches, and odd-shaped grams). And their clones are in high demand, so get one or two if you can. As for the 91′s being tolerance builders, that is very true. To counter this, I bounce back and forth between the top shelf good stuff and their other good (but less potent) strains. Recently, their 91 Malibu Pure Kush strain came in as the strongest they’ve had since I’ve been going there. Actually, it was the strongest I’ve ever had in SoCal. Green Angel’s D-9 is pretty much exclusive to their co-op, which is a THC extract(delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol) made from a high-pressure CO2 extractor only found in drug labs. The D-9′s so concentrated, it’s stored in a freezer. This place is no BS. I can almost guaranty that any new patient will end up behind the Green Angel menu with their mouth open for a very long time. They have over 100 strains of buds, several selections each of D-9/Hash/Kief, many edibles to select from (including they’re very powerful “D9 Brownie”), a wide selection of healthy and reliable clones, 1 gram specials, 2 gram specials, shake bags, kief specials, tongue-strips (like 5 or 6 different flavors), seeds from Cali Connection. It is amazing what they have in such a small place.

    • says:

      on May 13, 2009

      @Kubrickzghost: I forgot to mention the door thing and yes, it’s a nice touch.

      I was given a sample of the Pure Kush you mentioned while I was there (thanks again Winston) and yes it was killer.

  13. says:

    on May 17, 2009

    Didn’t use the vapor room but I spent a good ten minutes at the counter. The selection is unbelieveable, I walked out with 7 different strains.

    • says:

      on May 18, 2009

      @necros: That’s what I like to hear! :)

      It’s almost impossible to leave with any less than 3.

  14. SurfStar

    says:

    on May 21, 2009

    I just love this place and why not it’s the same guys as the old Fairfax in west Hollywood with over 75 high quality Meds that will completely rock your world…. the vape lounge is one of the best I have ever seen with a giant saltwater tank and the most beautiful fish to chill with it really gives you that Malibu feel.. they have a couple of other places in the valley, West Valley Patients Group but this is my favorite I’ll make the trip from Topanga Cyn any day for the experiance I have there.

    only complaint I have is I wish they did not pre weigh but they will re weigh it in front of you but!!!!

    any ways A+ for The Green Angel

    • says:

      on May 21, 2009

      @SurfStar: I like the fact that they will re-weigh it. Shows they know how important that is to some customers.

  15. thevoiceforftw

    says:

    on May 31, 2009

    Absolutly love this place, as of 5/29/09 they had over 100 strains ans 30 concentrates. I go in at least twice a week and always make sure to grab a gram of hash with my order. Next time you go in try the 91 Malibu Fire.

  16. mike

    says:

    on Jun 17, 2009

    I want to live where you lot do, enough said.

  17. D SanMo

    says:

    on Jul 5, 2009

    I’ve gone to dispensaries for years up and down the coast and even inland. This is the best one, especially if you need strong meds to affect you, All the strains I’ve seen from there are top notch and they have compassionate prices that are capped at 60. Respect how cool a place like this is, very friendly staff. I agree the customer service there is tied for the best around. I love other places that are more well known in the southland, but for my tastes this is the best, 91 fire all the way… Excellent concentrates. You will get the red eyes and if your like these meds really work for pain and nausea. Keep your beaches clean too so when you go out to try your meds, its always spectacular.

  18. jsr

    says:

    on Jul 18, 2009

    gam has some nice bud but some of there budtenders don’t have any idea what there talking about
    winston is a cool guy and he knows his stuff but i’ve had 2 of my last 3 trips be with a girl that doesn’t know anything about what she’s selling

    • says:

      on Jul 19, 2009

      @jsr: I don’t know that it’s them not knowing as much as it’s them trying to sell more of a certain product for whatever reason.

      But I can tell you first hand that Winston and Jill know their herb.

  19. necros

    says:

    on Jul 24, 2009

    Holy mother loving the White Widow delta-9 right now ……. !!! Unbelievable!!!

  20. says:

    on Aug 15, 2009

    This place’s Maliblu Dream nugs are seriously ROCK HARD and DANK!!! 20 a gram. They have a box of bottles ranging anywhere from 10 grams to 45 dollar 1/8ths. Daily specials, good hash, but nothing new for first timers unfortunately. The dude there told me they don’t “do that kind of thing here.” The vapor lounge is reeaaally nice! They have 4 or 5 really heady bongs, but waaay tooo much water in all of em. Great place though! Check it out!

  21. staff

    says:

    on Aug 22, 2009

    OUR HOURS ARE MON – SAT 10:00AM TO 8:00PM
    AND SUNDAY 12:00NOON TO 7:00PM

    THANKS

  22. says:

    on Aug 27, 2009

    Wow you guys are sooooo lucky. I would kill for a dispensary in Vegas. Im tired of going through shady ass dealers.

  23. necros

    says:

    on Sep 2, 2009

    GAM just ran out of a strain that’s one of my favs (been on the menu for over a month!), and of course it’s pay day. So I searched around on weedtracker and found a place what you could call a ‘GAM plan B’!

    West Valley Patients Group (WVPG)
    23043 Ventura Blvd., Woodland Hills,Ca 91364
    Phone: (818) 224-4146

    They are not superior to GAM by any means, but they have what counts: a huge menu and smoke lounge. I can tell they have some of the same vendors as GAM, half their menu is the same (it’s on weedtracker btw). They have the same system of preweigh, prices are very similar, the containers and quality of bud seem on par. Their clones are from the same vendor as well.

    But it wasn’t the same of course, hence plan B! :mrgreen:

  24. Merkaba

    says:

    on Sep 12, 2009

    This place is a really awesome store. They have an insane amount of varieties in their menu selection! So much stuff for ALL price levels and buyers! I bought a gram of the Maliblu Dream and it was literally ROCK hard. Could not squeeze it at all. Smoked amazingly, and the high was such an uplifting Blue Dream high. The vapor lounge here is really cool! 4 or 5 bongs and a Volcano and a fish tank! The hashish here is amazing as well. No first time patient deals though : ( oh well. Great place anyways!

  25. Chef

    says:

    on Sep 12, 2009

    @necros

    Thanks for the heads up. GAM is on my list of first places to hit upon getting my card, but its good to have alternatives!

  26. bluntedallday

    says:

    on Oct 23, 2009

    just letting every one here know because it seems like some of you are confused, you only need to be 18 years old you get a valid recommendation from a doctor not 21! and i live like 5 minutes from green angel Malibu, its deff.the club for the best medicine around here, but also very expensive compared to a lot of the other dispensaries will give you.

  27. blairfourtwenty

    says:

    on Nov 17, 2009

    yes, you have to be 18 in CA to get your MMJ card,
    and this particular dispensary is 18 and older. NOT 21 and older.

  28. Tony Mills

    says:

    on Nov 22, 2009

    This place sounds so awesome. Going to stop by the next time I’m in So Cal!

  29. Taylor

    says:

    on Dec 6, 2009

    I really enjoy every visit that i have to this establishment. I also respect the 60 dollar cap they have, even on the higher quality strains that they have. The amount of strains they carry there is almost overwhelming, but I have yet to be rushed at the counter when making a choice on buds. Top quality club, just simply a little too far away for every day access

  30. says:

    on Jan 22, 2010

    DAMN i live in austria,vienna and here the green is so bad i wish i cud live in cali and havin a card :P

  31. Rick

    says:

    on Apr 11, 2010

    Green Angel of Malibu was the first dispensary I ever visited, and have ever visited. I knew I was in the finest place in L.A./Ventura Counties from the minute I walked in the front door. I always leave with quality medicine, served with the knowledge and expertise expected from a professional operation. Green Angel mixes business with a typically So. Cal., laid-back atmosphere at a location smack-dab in the middle of swanky “Malibu”. There’s always the possibility of “bumping” into a celeb or 2 when in this ocean side town, and Green Angel gives off the feeling that even those ‘highly visible’ types can rest assured that their ‘secret’ is safe there. The lounge is a nice place to chill for a bit before heading back if you’ve had a long drive, but was much better when you could partake of your purchases. Too bad. Still, it is definitely worth the drive from anywhere in So. Cal!

  32. Tj screenwriter

    says:

    on Apr 26, 2010

    I am a screen writer and my famous friends love this spot…
    Sam Jackson and I were hitting the bong earlier and toking on some platinum purple o.g. blue cheese romulan…

  33. Snizzle

    says:

    on May 29, 2010

    I know it was over a year ago, but you said that you have to be 21 and have a valid recommendation. It may have been like that at the time, but as of now you only have to be 18 haha. If it was 21 I wouldn’t have ever been able to try any 91 strains ;) .

  34. Polartim

    says:

    on Jul 19, 2010

    Sad to say GAM is closed down. I went bye there on Saturday and they were moving everything out. They said too much shit from the City council. :huh:

    • says:

      on Aug 23, 2010

      Yes, you are right they are definately closed!

  35. DC

    says:

    on Sep 27, 2010

    This place is now closed!

  36. aaron

    says:

    on Oct 3, 2010

    ey is it still open herd sum rumers that it was closed

  37. cheyea

    says:

    on Nov 16, 2010

    how do u ask a doctor for a validation card. i live in dc and i have a pretty messed up back with minor scoliosis but i feel way to awkward asking the doctor “hey so nothing works just give me a marijuana card” ha just wondering how u guys did it?

    • says:

      on Nov 16, 2011

      The Malibu scene is pretty much non-existent now.. You’re better off heading over the canyon and grabbing something in the 818 area. I haven’t been to MMRC in about a year but when I was there they had all the “famous” 91 strains that Green Angel had.

  38. Captain John

    says:

    on Nov 27, 2010

    Yes. This place is now closed. It is now a spa (and a damn good one if you need accupuncture or a good massage).

    Anyone know of any other good dispensaries in Malibu? There are tons in Santa Monica and Venice, but not of this quality.

  39. 420 reviewer

    says:

    on Feb 10, 2011

    I went there to show them some of the worlds best medicine and they didn’t even have the respect to check out my stuff. Im twice the guys age and smoke 50 hits per day, and he didn’t even want a sample… These guys are money grubbing dickheads

  40. bud boy

    says:

    on Jul 3, 2011

    This place was amazing but is not there if they moved please let me know.

  41. Chef

    says:

    on Jul 3, 2011

    MMRC (in Sherman Oaks?)is not the new Green Angel, but some if not most of the same people are there, and the flowers are just as top shelf.

  42. Coffee Table Fish Tank

    says:

    on Oct 25, 2011

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really loved surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I’m hoping you write again soon!

  43. says:

    on Sep 9, 2013

    Looking for some Good Seeds….I don't know anyone but if anyone knows:
    digginya62@aol.c*m

Leave a Comment

You need to be logged in to leave a Comment. LOGIN below or REGISTER
remember me
Forgot USERNAME or PASSWORD?